In response to WordPress writing challenge – 5 haiku for successive days.

As suggested at http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/25/challenge-haiku/#more-48826

My native country on this terraformed planet is tropical; all its flora and fauna are imported from someplace on Earth. There is no moon here so the night sky features endless stars.  There are no fossil fuels so we mostly travel by horse.  I have a favourite patch of land up a dry streambed where I go to camp out some nights. In the opposite direction, there are dunes and some magnificent beaches.

*

I lie out naked

Night sand, beach towel, alone –

Warm stars tingle me

*

My horse blows out sound

as I brush him.  Barn echoes

the sound of his breath

*

Lizards watch me move,

Tyranno-human bends down

Far above their heads

*

Brightness, hummingbird!

A hallucinated flash

Travels past my mind

*

Streambeds cut the ground

Our lives bend, converge, and fall:

We are water maps

 

About marrikrajjarsen1

Marrik Rajjarsen is a pseudonym I used for writing fiction during the time I was still applying for jobs in science and wanted not to seem to have too many diverse interests.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In response to WordPress writing challenge – 5 haiku for successive days.

  1. Pingback: Haiku: Challenge Accepted | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: a collection of haikus | Ramisa the Authoress

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Haiku | A mom's blog

  4. znjavid says:

    These are great! Thanks for visiting and following my blog. Much appreciated! Best wishes, Zainab

  5. Pingback: Haiku: Traditions | Rob's Surf Report

  6. Pingback: Haiku: Cycles | Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Haiku / Bubbles | A mom's blog

  8. Pingback: Haiku: Voices | Rob's Surf Report

  9. Pingback: Haiku: Absolute | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a comment